I am the ‘She’

I am the ‘She’
One who’s place is behind the kitchen counter, no matter how much tired she is after work,
She is always stuck between her past,
and future.

I am the ‘She’
One who shivers when a stranger greets,
Too afraid to stand up against the family, friends, relatives..and speak.
She, is weak.

I am the ‘she’
And she is clumsy,
With hair an ugly shade of blue and green,
always dressed up as a boy but not knowing how to play video games.
She who does stupid things, make stupid comments.

I am the ‘She’
Scared, dumb little girl trapped in a supposedly grown-up woman,
One who seems slutty to you, for she holds a cigarette in one hand and success in the other.
The rude, straight forward ‘whore’ who knows how to say ‘No’.
She, who is just not yet ready to step back.
She walks down the stone-path,
Her blood soaking the societal norms
Rinsing them off of their own sins, gradually.

I am the ‘She’
And She knows how to rise from the ashes,
Again, and again, and again, and again.

©Smriti

Published by whispersoflove

A mysterious girl who loves reading novels, writing her heart out while sipping coffee and addicted to all the sad music in the world.

Leave a comment